APGC appoints Rishi Narain captain of Asia Pacific Team

India Golf Weekly Editor - Rishi Narain

Rishi Narain to captain Team APGC at Bonallack Trophy in August

Rishi Narain has been named non playing captain for the Asia Pacific men’s international amateur squad for the prestigious Bonallack Trophy, a Ryder Cup style team competition played every two years between a team comprising the best 12 amateur golfers from Asia Pacific and their counterparts from Europe. 

Past team members of Asia Pacific squads have included 2022 Augusta Masters champion Hideki Matsuyama of Japan, reigning Open champion Cam Smith of Australia and PGA Tour stalwarts like Geoff Ogilvy. Whereas Europe has enjoyed the services of Jon Rahm, Justin Rose, Shane Lowry, Matt Fitzpatrick and others.

The tournament will take place August 2-5th at La Manga in southern Spain and sees fourballs and foursomes on the first two days with singles matches on the final day – exactly the same format as The Ryder Cup.

The APGC also announced Liz Mckinnon of New Zealand as non playing captain of the Asia Pacific Women’s team for the Patsy Hankins Trophy played simultaneously with the Bonallack Trophy. 

On the ladies side, the 2018 Asia Pacific team consisted of such major champions Yuka Saso and Patty Tavatanatik of Thailand plus Athiya Thitikul who held the No 1 world rank briefly in 2022 . 

Taimur Hassan Amin, Chairman of the APGC, said: “We’re delighted that Rishi and Liz have accepted our invitations for them to act as non-playing captains for our teams at the 2023 Bonallack Trophy and Patsy Hankins Trophy.

“We are fortunate to be able to call on the experience and expertise of these two outstanding individuals who have contributed so much to golf during their careers.” Added Rishi “It’s a great honour for me and for India to have been given this important role. My team members are likely to include some future professional superstars. The tournament has such a rich legacy and the competition and camaraderie is something players really enjoy. We are in the process of team selection and we hope to retain the trophy that the Asia Pacific Team won in 2018, the last time the matches were played.”  

While Japan, China and Australia are among the best players from the region in the World Amateur golf rankings, it remains to be seen if any Indian players make the team. Among Indians who have made the Bonallack Trophy teams over the years are pro standouts Rashid Khan, Chikkarangappa, and Khalin Joshi. 


Read more latest stories

Your Feedback Please