Indian national women’s amateur squad in Thailand this week


Mannat Brar is making her second appearance at the event

The Indian squad of Avani Prashanth, Vidhatri Urs, Mannat Brar, Keerthana Rajeev Nair, Saanvi Somu & Heena Kang are representing India at the region’s biggest event – the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific (WAAP) Championship at Siam Country Club in Pattaya, Thailand from Feb. 1-4.

While this is Avani’s fourth time at the tournament, Vidhatri and Mannat will play their second edition, while the other three will be making their debut.

Avani, ranked 40th in the world, plans on turning pro this year. In the last two weeks, she has already racked up a runner-up finish at the Women’s Australian Master of the Amateurs and a 11th place finish at the Australian Women’s Amateur Championship.
The WAAP winner gets a spot at three major pro championships in 2024 – the AIG Women’s Open, the Amundi Evian Championship and the Chevron Championship.
The winner also receives invitations to the 121st Women’s (British) Amateur Championship, the 2024 Augusta National Women’s Amateur (ANWA) Championship, the Hana Financial Group Championship in Korea, and the Women’s Australian Open.
In the first five editions of the WAAP, players from Thailand (Atthaya Thitikul and Eila Galitsky), Japan (Yuka Yasuda and Mizuki Hashimoto) and Chinese Taipei (Ting-Hsuan Huang) emerged as winners.
The WAAP championship was developed by The R&A of St. Andrews and the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC) to inspire future generations of women golfers.

Photo – IGU

Read more latest stories

Your Feedback Please

Scroll down for more stories ⇩