Royal Calcutta hosts Vredestein Tyres Champions Event



Sanjeev Mehra winner Vredestein AVT Champions Tour

Sanjeev Mehra winner Vredestein AVT Champions Tour with Khalid Sayeed – Head of Sales E&Central India, Apollo Tyres & team

The venerable Royal Calcutta Golf Club, proved a stern test of golf for  India’s leading senior  amateurs who returned to competition at the Vredestein Tyres Champions Event on the AVT Champions Tour after a 10 month break. 

The AVT Champions Tour, now in its 3rd season,  is a  series of four annual tournaments that attracts the best veteran players in the country, including the likes of  Asian Games gold medalists Lakshman Singh, Rishi Narain & Amit Luthra, former All India Senior’s Champions Ashok Malik, Alan Singh, Gangesh Khaitan & Vijay Kumar, 1983 cricket world cup team winning captain Kapil Dev, senior internationals Jaspreet Bakshi, Anil Jule, Ajai Sirohi, Capt Cheema &  GC Sharma among the 100 players who make up the field at each event. 

Former top amateur, Sanjeev Mehra playing his home course, emerged winner with rounds of 77 & 73 (150) to win the Vredestein Champions Title comfortably by a margin of five strokes over Arvind Khanna (78-77) of Delhi Golf Club at the 36-hole individual gross stroke play event.

Arvind Khanna (Overall Runner-up)

Arvind Khanna (R) (Overall Runner-up)

At the Vredestein Tyres Event, 85 outstation players had flown into Kolkata to compete with a contingent of 40 players from Delhi NCR alone. In addition, 14 golfers from Bangalore, 8 from Mumbai, 7 players each from Chandigarh and Pune, with 15 local players making up the field. Three lady players were seen in action as well. 

Vredestein AVT Champions Tour Photo Gallery –  AVT Champions Tour – Kolkata 2021 Picture Gallery – India Golf Weekly | India’s No.1 Source For Golf News and Knowledge (

The players competed for the overall title, as well as in various veteran age categories over 50, over 55, over 60, over 65, & over 70. There was a 4  member inter-city team event in gross and net categories as well as net prizes in two handicap categories as well as long drive contests on both days by Vredestein Tyres and Indian Terrain. 

Results – Hole No. 4 – Indian Terrain Longest Drive Challenge – 

Sandeep Sandhu Long Drive (Indian Terrain)

Sandeep Sandhu (Winner – Longest Drive Challenge Indian Terrain)

Day 1 – Sandeep Singh Sandhu – 279.8 yards

Day 2 – Sudeep Chitlangia – 270.2 yards

Results – Hole No. 15 – Vredestein Tyres Longest Drive Challenge –

Day 1 – Kanwal Mago – 250 yards

Day 2 – Vikram Singh – 267 yards

The AVT Champions tour series prepares Indian seniors to test out their skills against the country’s best while preparing for their international outing to the annual Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Championship.

The AVT Champions Tour will crown season long overall champions and in each age group based on cumulative points earned from performances in the four events starting with Bangalore in Jan 2021, the Vredestein Tyres event in Kolkata and two upcoming events in Pune this January and  culminating in March 2022 at Classic Golf & CC in Gurugram.

Vredestein Tyres Champions Event Kolkata – Age Group Winners 

Category                        Player                               Score

50-54                             Gaurav Ghosh                78-80 (158)

Gaurav Ghosh (winner 50-54)-min

Gaurav Ghosh (Winner 50-54) with Khalid Sayeed – Head of Sales E&Central India, Apollo Tyres

55-59                             Sandeep  Sandhu          79-77 (156)

Sandeep Sandhu (Winner 55-59)

60-64                             Sanjeev Mehera            82-85 (167)

Sanjeev Mehera (Winner 60-64)

65-69                             Vijay Kumar                    82-79 (161)

Vijay Kumar (Winner – 65-69)

70 & Above                    KK Bajoria                      87-78 (165)

For complete results of the Vredestein Tyres event please visit this link –

Team Results – Gross for 36 holes

Winners – Lakshman Singh, Gaurav Ghosh, Jaideep Singh & Sanjeev Mehra – 450 ( Kolkata)

Gross Winners from L-R -Sanjeev Mehra, Lakshman Singh, Devrishi Singhal (CEO, RCGC), Gaurav Ghosh & Jaideep Singh with Sanjeev Mehera

Runner-up – Vivek Bajoria, Vikram Singh, Sanjay Samwal, Sandeep Ghosh – 452 ( Kolkata)

Winners of past AVT Champions Tour events –

2019 –

Rishi Narain – Classic Golf & CC, Gurugram (March)

David D’Souza – Eagleton Golf Resort, Bengaluru (July)

PS Rathore – Oxford Golf Resort, Pune ( September)

PS Rathore – Tollygunge Golf Club, Kolkata (January 2020)

Overall 2019 AVT Champions Tour Winner– PS Rathore

Overall 2019 AVT Champions Tour runner-up – David D’Souza

2020 – 

Ajai Sirohi – Classic Golf & CC, Gurugram (November)

2021 – 2022 season 

David D’Souza – Eagleton Golf Resort, Bengaluru (January)

Sanjeev Mehra – Royal Calcutta Golf Club, Kolkata (November)

Upcoming 2021-22 AVT Champions Tour schedule –

Oxford Golf Resort, Pune ( Jan. 6-7, 2022)

Classic Golf & CC, Gurugram (March 10-11, 2022)

Read more latest stories

Comments are closed.