Young Internationals bow to USA in 14th Presidents Cup


The Presidents Cup winning team of USA

Despite having lost at least four players to LIV Golf including British Open champion Cameron Smith of Australia and Louis Oosthuizen of South Africa, the young International team put up a spirited final day fight but in the end  team USA stayed on top with  17.5 points against 12.5 by team Internationals at the 14th edition of the Presidents’ Cup held at Quali Hollow, GC in South Carolina, USA. . The US earned their 9th consecutive Presidents Cup victory, having never been defeated in this event on their home soil,winning 12 times in 14 editions of the tournament. .


The youngest Team International in the history of the competition

 The mighty US team featured six of the top 10 golfers in the world, while the highest ranked player for the International team was World No. 17 Hideki Matsuyama of Japan, the 2021 Masters Champion.

The International team also featured eight first time players and built the youngest team in Presidents Cup history with seven players in their 20s, the youngest being the 20-year-old South Korean, Tom Kim.

Team USA                                                 Team International

Davis Love III (Captain)                          Trevor Immelman (Captain)         

Zach Johnson (Asst. Captain)              Geoff Ogilvy (Asst. Captain)          

Patrick Cantlay                                        Hideki Matsuyama – Japan

Justin Thomas                                       Tom Kim – S Korea

Xander Schauffele                                  Mito Pereira – Chile

Cameron Young                                    Taylor Pendrith – Canada

Collin Morikawa                                    Si Woo Kim – S. Korea

Jordan Spieth                                      Christian Bezuidenhout – South Africa

Sam Burns                                            Sungjae Im – S. Korea

Scottie Scheffler                                   Corey Conners – Canada

Tony Finau                                           Adam Scott – Australia

Billy Horschel                                    Sebastian Munoz – Colombia

Kevin Kisner                                      Cam Davis – Australia

Max Homa                                           K.H. Lee – S Korea



Photo – Presidents Cup

Read more latest stories

Comments are closed.