IGU announces National squad programme


Maj. Gen. Bibhuti Bhushan (DG, IGU) with National Squad members at Jaypee Greens in Greater Noida

The Indian Golf Union (IGU), the caretaker of amateur golf in India, has announced the National Squads in the Gentlemen, Ladies, Junior Boys & Girls categories. These squads will participate in several major international amateur tournaments, including the World Amateur Team Championships, the British Amateur Championship & the Queen Sirikit Cup.

The squads were selected based on their performances in a one-year cycle that began in April 2022 and their Order of Merit rankings.

With this announcement, IGU has effectively done away with the practice of holding trials to select Indian teams for international events. The trials will now only be conducted for the Asian Games and CWG, as mandated by the Sports Ministry. On that subject, the IGU will hold its selection trials for the 2023 Asian Games at RCGC in Kolkata from April 24-28.

The Men’s National Squad members were announced with ladies and junior squads to be announced soon. Yuvraj Singh, Shaurya Bhattacharya, Milind Soni, Jaiveer, Rohit, Vinamra Anand, Harimohan Singh, Anant Singh Ahlawat & Rakesh Kumar Gautam
As per the IGU Director General, Gen Bhibhuti Bhushan, “The golfers will be provided regular training, tactical and technical support at a dedicated golfing centre with the support of latest equipment and elite support staff. Later, they will be housed at the high-performance centre once it becomes operational”

As per the new squad policy, the international events have been segregated in two categories wherein the squad members will be divided as ‘A’ (1-5th ranked players) and ‘B’ (6-10th ranked) teams. The ‘A’ team will travel to all major international events including World Amateur Team Championships, Queen Sirikit Cup, Nomura Cup, British Championships, Australian Championships, Australian Masters of the Amateurs and Women’s Asia Pacific.

The ‘B’ squad will participate in other world ranking amateur tournaments namely Dutch Championships, Italian Championships, Thailand Championships, NSW Championships, Indonesia Championships, South African Championships, African Championships and Singapore Championships.

Photo – IGU

Read more latest stories

Your Feedback Please