Sneha Singh calls penalty on herself

Sneha Singh

Sneha Singh of Hyderabad

Perhaps the most impressive two strokes of the IGU  Rotary tournament at Golfshire, Bangalore were the two penalty strokes Sneha Singh called on herself when only she noticed that her novice caddy was testing the grass on the 15th green in Rd 1 by brushing it with his hand after Sneha asked him the line. Sneha immediately called the referee and revealed what happened. The referee wanted to discuss it with the Tournament Director. As no decision was conveyed to Sneha, she again checked when submitting her scorecard. The two stroke penalty dropped her from -3 to -1 for the opening day. No doubt a temporary disappointment but showed the character and integrity of the player and the valuable lesson for all golfers on how golf is indeed a game of upholding the highest values. It’s only fitting that Sneha went on to win the event by a stroke !

The 17 year old girl from HGA, Hyderabad deserves an award for upholding the honour of the game. Her -7, 209 total for the tournament despite the 2 shot penalty makes a fitting case for strengthening the mind by being true to the game.


Photo – WGAI

Read more latest stories

Comments are closed.